close btn

Earlier today, New American Leaders announced their first ever New American Elected Officials Advisory Council. Composed of elected first and second generation Americans representing six key electoral states, this board will provide thought leadership on critical issues facing New American communities and policy solutions allies can champion.  

“New Americans and communities of color determined the outcome of the 2020 election. Now it is imperative for us to leverage our collective seats at the table to ensure our national priorities and political power are acted upon,” said Everton Blair, New American Leaders’ Director of Governance and Board Chair of the Gwinnett County Board of Education. 

“Over the last 10 years, our programs have empowered over 1,000 New Americans to own their power and even serve in elected office. Now, six of these leaders are taking the next step by joining our advisory council, creating policies that will strengthen our democracy and open the door for more New Americans to run, win and lead,” Sara Le Brusq, Interim President of New American Leaders stated.

The founding members of the New American Leaders Elected Advisory Council are:

  • Arizona State Representative Raquel Terán
  • Florida State Representative Anna Eskamani
  • Georgia State Representative Sam Park
  • Las Vegas, Nevada City Councilmember Olivia Diaz
  • Michigan State Representative Darrin Camilleri
  • Wisconsin State Assemblymember Samba Baldeh


“These leaders are the future of our democracy,” Blair continued. “They have deep community connections in key swing states and will be critical to forming the policies needed to create a more inclusive democracy.”

Members of the New American Leaders Elected Advisory Council will advise on policy responses to current events, engage other New American elected officials through policy support, and connect the broader NAL network with progressive partners to create multi-racial coalitions.

For more information on initial policy initiatives or for interviews with the founding advisory council members, please contact Sunshine Sachs at