close btn

In what has proven to be one of the most competitive midterm elections in recent history, with a record breaking $16.7 billion spent, New Americans showed up and played a critical role in securing Democratic victories up and down the ballot.

New American Leaders Action Fund endorsed 60 candidates in the 2022 election cycle, with 76 New American Leaders alumni on the ballot, and at least 65% of NALAF endorsees winning in Tuesday night’s elections.

Ghida Dagher, president of New American Leaders and New American Leaders Action Fund, shared the following comment in response to the initial results:

“The initial results are in and they couldn’t be more clear: Voters are tired of the pale, stale, and male political establishment. They are ready for a new generation of elected officials and have embraced the future New American candidates represent.

“From Arizona to Michigan and Georgia to New York, our communities turned out to organize, educate, run for office, and vote like never before. Faced with unprecedented attacks on our most essential rights, historic inflation, and the horrific rise of hate and extremism, we understand what was at stake in this election and will not be pushed to the sidelines or silenced as our lives and democracy is on the line. Instead, we took action and contributed to the historic wins—many by Democrats—we saw Tuesday night.

“Voters of all backgrounds chose to support many of the New Americans who stepped up to run, win, and lead. Candidates like Nabeela Syed in Illinois, Kristen Gonzalez in New York, and Analise Ortiz in Arizona—all bold, young candidates running against incumbents or party-backed candidates—used their authentic experiences to create community-centered campaigns rooted in progressive values. But most importantly, they focused on building lasting community power, securing victories for many of their own campaigns and for Democrats up and down the ballot.

“Without record breaking turnout from diverse young voters, the results of this election would change dramatically. Despite being historically ignored, young voters and New Americans once again played a critical role in deciding headliner races, a fact that political parties and future candidates cannot ignore. We hold the keys to the future of our democracy and we demand to be included and listened to—no exceptions.

“As one of the only national organizations committed to empowering and supporting New American and BIPOC candidates, we know that these incredible New American elected officials are the leaders we have been waiting for. Their community-centered campaigns bring us a step closer to creating a democracy that is of, for and by all people. We can’t wait to be a part of what they do next!”

While results are still coming in, New American Leaders Action Fund celebrates the election of its endorsees, including:

  • Munira Abdullahi; State House of Representatives, District 9; Ohio
  • Segun Adeyina; State House of Representatives, District 110; Georgia
  • Abraham Aiyash; State House of Representatives, District 9; Michigan
  • Juan Álvarez; Anaheim Elementary School Board, Area 2; California
  • Dr. Michelle Au; State House of Representatives, District 50; Georgia
  • Jabari Brisport; State Senate, District 25; New York
  • Samra Brouk; State Senate, District 56; New York
  • Greg Casar; U.S. House of Representatives, District 35; Texas
  • Stephanie Chang; State Senate, District 3; Michigan
  • Catalina Cruz; State Assembly, District 39; New York
  • Ayesha Ghazi Edwin; Ann Arbor City Council, Ward 3; Michigan
  • Jason Esteves; State Senate, District 6; Georgia
  • Kristen Gonzalez; State Senate, District 17; New York
  • Anna Hernandez; State Senate, District 24; Arizona
  • Jennifer Hernandez; Phoenix Union School Board, Ward 5; Arizona
  • Hoan Huynh; State House of Representatives, District 13; Illinois
  • Rima Mohammad; Ann Arbor Public Schools; Michigan
  • Uduak Joe Ntuk; Long Beach City College Board Trustee, Area 1; California
  • Analise Ortiz; State House of Representatives, District 24; Arizona
  • Steven Raga; State Assembly, District 30; New York
  • Ruwa Romman; State House of Representatives, District 97; Georgia
  • Oscar De Los Santos; State House of Representatives, District 11; Arizona
  • Anupam Chugh Sidhu; Plymouth-Canton Community Schools Board of Education; Michigan
  • Sarahana Shrestha; State Assembly, District 103; New York
  • Leezah Sun; State House of Representatives, District 22; Arizona
  • Nabeela Syed; State House of Representatives, District 51; Illinois
  • Rashida Tlaib; U.S. House of Representatives, District 12; Michigan
  • Mai Xiong; Macomb County Commissioner, District 11; Michigan